Hotel Chocolat (DF, LF, V, GF)

wp_20161026_16_57_09_pro

You may already have discovered the deliciousness of Hotel Chocolat products, which have quite a few options for us dairy-free folk.  However, until now, I did not know that they had a café, with lots of yummy treats and chocolatey hot drinks.

Whilst vising Liverpool, we stumbled across this little gem.  I was cautiously excited as I went inside, as I am aware of their dairy-free range of chocolates, but was worried this might not extend to their café.  As it was, I didn’t need to worry, as the well-informed staff were able to tell me that there were dairy-free drinks on offer, and, in addition, brownies!

I decided to have a hot chocolate on this occasion.  There were various hot chocolates on offer, but they are not all dairy-free.  The staff were on hand to help, however, and I chose their most basic hot chocolate.  Hotel Chocolat use coconut milk as their cow’s milk alternative.  This is something to bear in mind if you don’t like coconut or are allergic to it.

As you can see from the photograph, the hot chocolate is beautifully presented.  You can see my partner’s dairy version in the background, with some delicious-looking chocolate cream on the top.  However, there was nothing to be jealous of because my lactose-free version was just as good as a standard version would be.

The hot chocolate was not as sweet as some can be, but had a wonderfully rich chocolate flavour to it.  It really was like drinking chocolate!  The coconut milk didn’t really change the taste and I don’t think it was particularly detectable.  The flavour and texture of the drink were very creamy and the hot chocolate was quite thick.  I absolutely savoured every minute of this little piece of chocolate heaven!

As mentioned, there were also some brownies on offer.  I chose a Toasted Coconut Brownie, which was gluten-free and dairy-free.  As the brownie was gluten free, the texture was a bit more crumbly than I would like.  However, the flavour was quite chocolatey and I felt that you got a decent amount of cake for your money, which I don’t feel is always the case with gluten-free goodies.

I have no hesitation in recommending this place for a wonderful lactose-free treat.  Now, how often can I get back to Liverpool to get another one?

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

