Tesco Free From Chicken Tikka Masala (DF, LF, GF)

wp-image-1336825435jpg.jpg

I’m not usually one for ready meals.  The stomach issues I have mean that it is difficult to find ones that have appropriate ingredients, and I have got so used to cooking from scratch that I often find the flavour of ready meals too bland.

However, I came across this one in Tesco, and as it was reduced, I decided to give it a go and was pleasantly surprised.

Purchased from: Tesco

Dairy/lactose free: Dairy free.  As well as being free from milk, it is also free from egg.

Description of product: A dairy free chicken tikka masala curry, with rice and quinoa.

My review:

This curry was fairly mild, so suitable for those that don’t like it too strong.  Although it is made with coconut milk, you couldn’t really taste the coconut, so don’t be put off by this if it isn’t your favourite.

The curry sauce was very much like a tikka masala, and to me tasted no different to one that would ordinarily contain dairy based cream or yoghurt.

I really liked the fact that rather than just having plain rice with it, there was a mixture of pilau rice, brown rice and quinoa which was mixed with spinach and herbs.  The rice was not spicy, but added another dimension to the flavours already in the curry.

Upon looking at the ready meal, I didn’t think it would be a big enough portion.  However, I actually found it was just the right amount and very filling.

It was also easy to cook, and can be cooked in the microwave, so a good ready meal to take to work if you fancy a hot meal at lunch time.

Although a ready meal is not something I choose to eat often, it is great that companies are beginning to create a selection that can be eaten by those with dietary requirements, and these can be great for a busy lifestyle sometimes.

Rating: 4/5

4 thoughts on “Tesco Free From Chicken Tikka Masala (DF, LF, GF)

Leave a Reply

