Tesco Lactose and Gluten Free Granola Yoghurt (LF, GF)

DSC_0023

Upon a recent trip to Tesco, I was pleasantly surprised to see a large increase in dairy and lactose free products.  Some of these included a new range of lactose free products made by Tesco.

Purchased from: Tesco

Dairy/lactose free: Lactose free only – contains cow’s milk, so not suitable for someone with a milk allergy, but fine for the lactase challenged among us.

Description of product: A pot of plain yoghurt, made from cow’s milk with added lactase enzyme.  It comes with a sachet of oat granola (gluten free) and a spoon for eating on the go.

My review:

I was really excited when I saw this product on the shelf.  Sometimes breakfast can be a little boring and I find myself stuck for ideas.  I try to include plenty of dairy substitutes in my diet to make sure I have enough calcium, and often include a yoghurt at breakfast time for this reason.

The granola on top is a red berry flavour, so combines freeze dried berries with oat granola, like you may find in similar breakfast cereals.  Along with the granola is a pot of plain yoghurt, made from cow’s milk with lactase enzyme added, to help us lactase challenged enjoy it without any side effects.

I added the granola to the yoghurt and mixed it together.  Even though there didn’t seem to be a large amount of granola to begin with, when mixed together there was a good yoghurt to granola ratio.  I enjoyed having the different textures of the crunchy granola and smooth yoghurt together.

The yoghurt itself had a lovely creamy texture and taste to it.  I don’t think I have had a dairy or lactose free one before that has tasted as good as this one.  If you are not used to eating lactose free, rather than dairy free, you may find the taste too sickly at first, but once you get used to it, it is most enjoyable.

I was surprised at how filling this product was and I didn’t need anything else to add to my breakfast.  If you wanted to, you could probably add some fresh fruit.

Rating: 5/5

 

One thought on “Tesco Lactose and Gluten Free Granola Yoghurt (LF, GF)

Leave a Reply

